Believing Unbelievers

people-feet-train-travelling

Well that’s a confusing title. Yep, and there’s a confusing topic to go with it; confusing and hard.  Believing unbelievers is the name I’ve given to people who are putting their faith in something other than Christ and calling it Christian. Unfortunately a lot of them could be called Homeschooled Believing Unbelievers.

As humans we like to put our faith in something that we can see, or something we can touch. As a result in stead of taking God at his word we need ‘proof’ that he’s telling the truth. So we search for something that can prove to us that we are saved.

But the truth is there is nothing more than the word of God that is stable ground. All other ground is sinking sand. When we reach the end and we stand before the judgment seat, these things won’t stand. Only a personal relationship with Christ will bring us through our sin.

The people I would like to talk about today are people who believer they are believers but are not. Why? Because true Christianity comes from a personal relationship with Christ. You can’t get into heaven like you could into a party…”well my friend has a friend that knows the host.” That doesn’t work in heaven…”well my parents no there great-granddad who knows the guy in charge.

Unbelieving Believers are a lot like the Pharisees in Scripture. They were born Jews, raised in Jewish families, taught in Jewish schools and became Jewish leaders…but yet they were still not qualified. Not without Christ’s blood.

What do we depend on?

1. Parents

“Because my parents are Christians I’ll be fine.”

“They answered him, We be Abraham’s seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free?” John 8:33

“And think not to say within yourselves, We have Abraham to our father: for I say unto you, that God is able of these stones to raise up children unto Abraham.” Matthew 3:9

Your parent’s relationship with God will not effect your stand with God. You must decide on your own that you will serve God. There is nothing they can do to save you. (Duet 24:16)

2. Christian Home

“Because I was raised a Christian I am one.”

This view is like saying ‘because I was born in America I’ll never get in trouble with the judge.‘ It doesn’t matter if you were born in the dumps or in a good clean home…sin is sin and you will receive the punishment for it.

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23

There are no exceptions…

“They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.” Romans 3:12

3. Homeschooled

“Because I’m homeschooled and not in a secular school system I am Christian.”

This one is a lot like the Pharisees in the Bible. Do you think they went to a secular school? No they were taught by the wisest men there were. And what do you think their school books were? The scripture! But look at where they ended up. Not even your education can save you.

The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.   I tell you, this man (the publican) went down to his house justified rather than the other…” Luke 18:11-12, 14 (italics added)

4. Works

“Well I help people and go to church and read my Bible and pray and honor my parents and…”

“For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:” Ephesians 2:8

“I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.” Luke 18:12

Starting to sound like the Pharisee again right?

“For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all. For he that said, Do not commit adultery, said also, Do not kill. Now if thou commit no adultery, yet if thou kill, thou art become a transgressor of the law.” James 2:10-11

We are all guilty! We have all fallen short (Rom 3:23) and no works can save us.

The greatest thing about salvation is that we don’t deserve it! All of these things amount to nothing and why should they? They are all gifts from God (James 1:17). If this has made you question you salvation maybe that’s what God intended. I know many friends who depended on there parents for there salvation. But when God woke them up they realized they had faith in their parents and not in God.

If God has used this as a wake up call to you PRAISE THE LORD. I’d rather brake your heart and wake you up to the truth than give you honey and watch you die in the end.

Hard word are the best, truth hurts but guess what? If you know the truth you can also know hope.

So how do we find true faith?

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

Christ is the only way.

“Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:6

Keep fighting for Christ

Leave a Reply

