More Than a Body, a Soul

Son of man, I have made thee a watchman unto the house of Israel: therefore hear the word at my mouth, and give them warning from me. When I say unto the wicked, Thou shalt surely die; and thou givest him not warning, nor speakest to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life; the same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand.” Ezekiel 3:17

pexels-photo

A couple of weeks ago (almost a month now I think) I posted on Google+ about my friend, who I had just found out wasn’t a Christian. I was confused and didn’t understand why this was happening. But already in this short month I have started to see things in my life drastically change just because of this one event.

The biggest thing I think has been the eyes to see other people in a different way.
I used to be (and still am on occasion) VERY judgmental. If you were even slightly different from me I didn’t like you.

“And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?” Matthew 7:3

But here’s what I want to share with you…Where would you be without Christ?
I want you to think about that seriously.

I did, and I was overwhelmed with his utter mercy towards me. He is omnipresent! He is always with me. Who would I talk to when I was alone? Who would comfort me? How could I possibly get through the hard days? Who would fill the emptiness of my spirit? Who would give me meaning and a purpose in life?

After summing it up, I would be NOTHING.

This very huge discovery and awakening not only humbled me it also showed me how selfish I had been.

These people that I was wagging my finger at were HUMAN! They had a soul destined for hell. The same thing I deserved. I was overwhelmed. Out of the millions of people walking the streets I was chosen to be among the few, the elect.

gay_flag1Now this brings me to a very hot topic.

Gays.

When I saw this picture, I was disgusted. I wanted to scream at them, “What do you think you are doing? Who do you think you are?”

But then I stepped back.

My family has this really annoying quote that states, “When you point your finger at someone three other fingers are pointing strait back at you.”

So I asked myself that question. “Who did I think I was?” Did I think I was God to condemn these people without ever even knowing they’re names! Are they sinners? Yes. Do they deserve hell? Yes. We all do but through the love and mercy of Christ Jesus. Should we correct them? Yes. But how?

I’ve seen so much hate this past week, it overwhelms me. I believe that we as Christians have lost the ability to love. Truly love. Yes those are very hard words. But I don’t mean just everyday love. I mean true love. The way God described it. He told us to turn the cheek (Matt 5:39) to love our neighbors (Mark 12:31) and our enemies (Matt 5:44).

This can quickly transition into compromising but that’s not what I’m talking about either. I’m not telling you to ‘except them’ I’m telling you that God told us to love them.

They aren’t a group of people that we can judge and get away with it, they are humans who have souls that need saving (Rom 8:10). And only the power of Christ can do that (John 4:6). But how, may I ask you can they witness that power if the only thing they’re receiving in the Lord’s name is hate?

Wherever you go, and whatever you say, as a Christian is in the Lord’s name, simply because you call yourself a Christian. So think twice about what you say.

But to wrap it up, I really want this article to cause each and every one of you to stop, and to think. To reflect on what the Lord has done for you. To consider how little you deserve and how much you’ve been given.

God has called each and everyone of us to be ambassadors but how can we do that if we don’t have the eyes to see people the way he sees them.

Keep on fighting!

Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God;” Romans 3:24-25

Leave a Reply

