Words that Give Life

nature-sunset-field-sun “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalms 119:105

I started reading Secret Believers the other day by Brother Andrew, and something kept coming up in the testimonies of these Muslims. The difference between the Qur’an and the Bible. They said that the Qur’an read like a book of rules but the Bible was alive. It brought them hope and love.

See because the Bible is more than just a book of rules, it’s more than a book. It’s the words of the almighty King spoken directly to us. And no matter how many times it’s translated the spirit is still there and God uses it to bring many to him. God’s words are not subjective to our language.

Often times I take the Bible for granted, I read it because I have to not because I want to. But lately I’ve started noticing how alive I feel after reading it. It brings me new life and new hope. It brings me strength when I’m down, and when no one else believes in me I know He does.

The word is a gift from the God of the universe, don’t take it for granted. Enjoy every moment.

We watched a movie last night about WWII, a newly married wife was talking about excepting the reality that her husband could possibly die. This is what she said, “I’m going to enjoy every moment, take in every second. They’ll be time enough afterward for crying, but now is my time to be happy.”

“Something does not become special when it lasts forever.” -Vision

To often we treat things like they’ll be there forever. It’s when the reality strikes us that it won’t be, that we start to use the time we’re given with purpose.

“Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.” James 4:14

I love the way David describes God’s word…

“The words of the Lord are pure words: as silver tried in a furnace of earth, purified seven times.” Psalms 12:6

“How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” Psalms 119:103

“The entrance of thy words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple.” Psalms 119:130

The Bible is more than a book, it words that give life to the weary. It’s like medicine to your soul when you’re wounded. It sheds light on a tough decision, and gives you wisdom for all of your choices.

No the paper is not special, nor the binding, but the word of God is eternal.

So the next time you sit down to ready the Bible, don’t teat it like a chore, treat it like a pleasure, a privilege, an opportunity to get to know God better.

Keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

