Not My Own

tablet-galaxy-white-blogSomething I’ve been highly convicted of lately is my desire after “other things.” You know the things that aren’t wrong but aren’t right. Those things that “the Bible doesn’t address.”

Things like Contemporary Christian Music, or TV shows, short skirts, pants, Christina Perri, Owl City, secular love songs, etc.

Now none of the things I listed above are wrong or evil but here’s the hard lesson I’ve learned; and it’s all summed up in two verses.

“All things are lawful unto me, but all things are not expedient.”

1 Corinthians 6:12

“Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”

James 4:14

What I’ve slowly come to realize is that life is to short to spend on the things of the world. They pass away but we are eternal. There is nothing wrong with singing about fireflies or wearing short skirts. But is it worth the time to argue your dad into getting the skirt. Or is it worth the time to sing a stupid song when you could be singing one to God who will never get all that he deserves even if we were to sing to him all day and all night.

Now here me out. The last thing I want is for this blog to be a place where I through my opinions around and stick my nose in the air. I learned this the hard way. I’m six-teen and I can’t name a single significant thing I did in those six-teen years. I can sure name every song I learned every movie I watched and I can quote and sing from heart. But how many passages have I memorized, how many friends have I made, how many hearts have I touched?

How many things have I done that will last through eternity?

This is still just my opinion so here’s a verse that I found that hit me harder than a rock. It comes right after the verse that says all things are lawful but not all things are expedient.

“Meats for the belly, and the belly for meats: but God shall destroy both it and them.”

1 Corinthians 6:13a

It really hits hard doesn’t it? Why are we arguing over the little things in life when they’ll all pass away?

“And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.”

1 John 2:17

“The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: but the word of our God shall stand for ever.”

Isaiah 40:8

To sum it up, if CCM ministers to you, sing with all your heart. If it doesn’t move on and find something that will be worth the time. I believe we all have Christian liberty because we are different. Each of us have different ways of communicating and so each of us will hear the scripture differently, will find joy differently, will be a light in a dark world differently. So God gives us Christian liberty so that each of us can fulfill our calling to the best of our ability in our own way.

So here’s how to tell if you’re wasting time or glorifying God…is this the better, most glorifying way to do what you are trying to do? Or is, what you are trying to do, bringing glory to God at all?

 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

1 Corinthians 6:20

Our lives, time, body and voices are his, he bought them. They MUST serve him!

Leave a Reply

