Salvation on Rent

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is salvation here to stay? What if I’m wrong? What if I could somehow fall short of salvation? What if I end up in hell after all of this?

Have you ever caught yourself talking like this? Well I have. And to be completely honest it can be very scary. But in those times I’ve had to ask myself what do I believe? Do I truly believe that I can lose my salvation?

The answer (praise the LORD) has been no. Maybe I’ve been scared but I’ve never been let down by God and I know I never will.

It’s a faith in Him I want all people to have. So that’s why I’m writing this article. Because I want you to trust God.

A couple of months ago I was on a google+ conversation and the question was raised. Two girls said they believed that they could lose their salvation. It tore me to pieces. How can you get through life if you have to constantly be worthy of something that you can never be worthy of?

I started to wonder (as I often do when confronted with something new) what the implications were for believing this. Are you saved if you believe this? Are they right who believe this? Is salvation really up to us? Or is God undependable?

Here is what I’ve found.

God IS dependable! Christ will “NEVER LEAVE YOU NOR FORSAKE YOU.” (Hebrews 13:5) And he died for us “while we were YET SINNERS.” (Romans 5:8)

                We CAN’T fall short because we were never worthy in the first place.

How can one lose what they have not won?

Christ won the victory, therefore if anyone must lose it, it must be him. But Christ cannot lie and he said “All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.” John 6:37

add

Let me explain, your sin is huge so your faith must be great to save you.  But faith in what? Well it has to be in Christ. So if you believe you can lose your salvation… your faith is obviously not strong enough to save you.

Do you get what I’m trying to say? If you can lose your salvation than you have absolutely no faith in Christ.

What do you believe? That salvation is some tight rope that we can fall off of instead of the hand of God? Do you believe that the almighty God is undependable? That your sin is somehow greater or stronger than God?

If you believe that you can become unworthy of salvation than you must believe that you can become worthy in the first place.

“…there is none that doeth good no, not one.” (Romans 3:12)

                You cannot save yourself.

“I’m not holding on to You, but You’re holding on to me.” – Casting Crowns “East to West”

Believe in the one true God, he is King forever and he will never let you go! You are his and he is yours. There is nothing that can take you away from him.

“No power of hell, nor scheme of man can ever pluck me from his hand.” In Christ Alone

Leave a Reply

