Healing Begins when You are Sick

streets-shoes-urban-decay

I was listening to “Healing Begins” by Tenth Avenue North and some thoughts started stirring in my mind. While I was still thinking “Blessings” by Laura Story came up. Ok God I got it…I’ll write about the biggest lesson that I’ve ever learned, healing begins when you are sick.

When everything is going “wrong” what’s the first thing we do? For myself, I feel deserted, by my friends, by my family, by God. If it was my fault I blame others. But here’s the cold hard truth. You’re probably on the ground for one of two reasons.

1). It was your fault and there’s a lesson to be learned

2). God wants to get your attention/ He’s going to show you something

So either way it isn’t anyone else’s fault, and instead of complaining or yelling at God we should listen.

He knocked you to your knees so while you’re there pray.

The biggest lessons I’ve learned in life have not been from a church service or a conference but from my own life.

It’s the hardest times that are the best lessons.

If the world is leaving you alone there’s a problem. (1 John 3:13; James 4:4)

I was reading Proverbs and thinking to myself, he keeps telling me to get wisdom but how? Shouldn’t God just bless us with wisdom so we know just what to do? I mean how can we obey him if he doesn’t tell us what to do right?

Have you ever had a lesson in math, that no matter how many times you read it you just don’t get it? That is, until you do it. 

Do you get me?

God does tell us what to do, he gives us his word. But sometimes it takes a personal experience to finally get it. You can know the law but you can know the law, personally.

How do you teach a child to NOT do something? By telling them? Um no. That doesn’t work. You give them a spanking. That pain tells them to not do that again. It wasn’t “no” it was the punishment.

We’re just like children, we might be a little bit bigger but we still have to learn for our selves.

HEALING

I’m often upset at myself for not “getting it” fast enough. Or not being “good enough.” But there’s more to it than that. There’s no reason to be healed if you aren’t sick. Christ brought salvation to us not because we deserved it but because we needed it.

“…for I am not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Matthew 9:13

If life is easy for you than you should look to God’s word. It’s in the easy times that temptations lurk.

Yet a little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to sleep: So shall thy poverty come as one that travelleth, and thy want as an armed man.” Proverbs 6:10-11

So when everything looks like it’s falling apart, buckle up and hold on to the only thing that will always remain. Christ.

Leave a Reply

